Skip to main content
Mission Ocean and Waters service portal

A-AAGORA 2nd call for Associated Regions


Funding programme or initiative
Horizon Europe Framework Programme (HORIZON)
AustriaBelgiumBulgariaCroatiaCyprusCzechiaDenmarkEstoniaGreeceHungaryItalyLatviaLithuaniaLuxembourgMaltaNetherlandsPolandSlovakiaSloveniaSpainSwedenAlbaniaArmeniaBosnia and HerzegovinaFaroe IslandsGeorgiaIcelandIsraelKosovoMoldovaMontenegroNorth MacedoniaSerbia
Atlantic and Arctic basinMediterranean Sea basinBaltic and North Sea basinDanube River basin
Deadline date
20 March 2024, 17:00 CET
Publication date
31 January 2024
Mission Objectives
1. Ecosystems and Biodiversity2. Pollution prevention and elimination3. Carbon Neutral and Circular Blue Economy
Mission Topics
Relevant to Blue Parks Community
Associated Regions


A-AAGORA is responding to the needs to protect and restore marine and freshwater ecosystems and biodiversity, to protect valuable ecosystems located in coastal communities particularly vulnerable to climate change impacts, and to mitigate the effects of climate change, while promoting societal well-being. 

The A-AAGORA consortium is looking for seven (7) Associated Regions to contribute to the EU Mission Ocean and Waters. A-AAGORA offer Associated Regions a living lab approach to solve real world challenges as well as knowledge transfer, local partners and communities engagement, technical assistance for building ecosystem-based management capacity, and matchmaking opportunities with potential funders, investors and philanthropists.  


Successful Associated Regions will participate in workshops and training activities, co-develop blueprints and business plans for upscaling nature-based solutions, engage with local partners and communities to deliver an ecosystem-based management approach, and test and feedback on the solutions developed by the demo sites.  

A-AAGORA expects to select at least 1 region for each Mission Ocean basin, and at least 2 for the Atlantic-Arctic basin. 

Eligible applicants: 

Areas eligible to be Associated Regions are those who are part of Member States and overseas and Associated Countries to the Horizon Europe Programme. 

Applicants must be a regional or local organisation, and projects must include a local/regional authority. Project lead by local and/or regional authorities will be prioritised. Countries that cannot participate due to being part of the A-AAGORA consortium are: Portugal, Ireland, Norway, France, Germany, United Kingdom, Romania and Finland.  


Financial support of up to EUR 70 000. 


Associated Regions project implementation to commence in May 2024, and project to end on the 31st of May 2026.  

Contact points

Stay up to date on the Mission Ocean and Waters Service Portal actions by signing up to our Newsletter.

Share your feedback and rate this information, or contact our helpdesk for more support. Your insights help us improve!